What is a Federal Executive Board?

The Alamo Federal Executive Board (FEB) is comprised of 63 Federal agencies which represent over 91,000 Federal employees in the San Antonio area. We strive to provide a clear and effective communications medium between Federal agencies and all levels of government. Nothing can be more important to Federal organizations than “partnering” with other government entities and community groups. The FEB brings diverse parties to the table and facilitates valuable collaboration.

President Kennedy established Federal Executive Boards (FEB) on November 10, 1961, to improve internal Federal management practices and to provide a central focus for Federal participation in civic affairs in major metropolitan areas.

Federal Executive Boards are composed of the heads of all Federal Departmental and agency field offices, both civilian and military, located in major metropolitan areas. A Chair and other officers are elected annually from among the membership to provide leadership to the Board’s operation. An Executive Director and Secretary serve in support to the Board. Committees and councils carry out inter-agency projects consistent with the Board’s mission. The Boards receive overall policy direction from the Office of Personnel management (OPM).

Federal Executive Boards serve as prime means for disseminating information within the Federal Government, for inter-agency training and for promoting discussion of Federal policies and activities of importance to all Federal Executive in the field. The Board also serves as channels of communication to Washington D.C. on government wide management issues requiring special attention.

Federal Executive Boards have been designated by Presidential action for 28 metropolitan areas. These are: Albuquerque -Santa Fe, Atlanta, Baltimore, Boston, Buffalo, Houston, Chicago, Cincinnati, Cleveland, Dallas- Fort Worth, Denver, Detroit, Honolulu-Pacific, Houston, Kansas City, Los Angeles, Miami, Newark, New Orleans, New York, Oklahoma City, Philadelphia, Pittsburgh, Portland, St. Louis, San Antonio, San Francisco, Seattle, and the Twin Cities.