Phone:  (210) 565-1860

Hours: Mon-Fri 7:30 am – 4:30 pm


The Federal Executive Boards (FEBs) were established by Presidential Directive on November 10, 1961 by President John F. Kennedy as a forum for communication and collaboration among Federal agencies outside of Washington, DC.

“As a first step in bringing Federal officials outside of Washington closer together, I have directed the Chairman of the Civil Service Commission to arrange the establishment of a Board of Federal Executives in each of the Commission’s administrative regions.”

1) Boston, MA

2) Chicago, IL

3) Denver, CO (Changed to the Colorado FEB in 2010).

4) Dallas-Ft. Worth, TX

5) New York City, NY

6) Philadelphia, PA

7) San Francisco, CA

8) Seattle, WA

9) St. Louis, MO

10) Atlanta, GA

In late 1962 and early 1963, The United States Civil Service Commission, with the approval of President Kennedy, approved the establishment two additional Federal Executive Boards.

11) Los Angeles, CA. September 20, 1962.

12) Greater Kansas City, MO. January 2, 1963.

On July 6, 1966, President Lyndon B. Johnson announced the establishment of three new Federal Executive Boards.

“The work of Federal Executive Board is my work too, and they will have my continued personal interest and support.  The Boards deserve and will have the full cooperation of Federal executives in Washington and in the field. “

13) Cleveland, OH

14) Honolulu-Pacific  (This is the first statewide FEB established)

15) Minneapolis-St. Paul, MN (Known today as the Minnesota FEB)

On August 13, 1969, President Richard M. Nixon authorized the establishment of 10 additional Federal Executive Boards.

“I concur in the recommendations of the report on Federal Executive Boards submitted by you and the Chairman of the Civil Service Commission.

Act immediately to carry our those recommendations. Federal Executive Boards can be an effective means of implementing a wide range of Administration policy. “

16) Baltimore, MD

17) Buffalo, NY

18) Cincinnati, OH

19) Detroit, MI

20) Albuquerque (Changed to the New Mexico FEB in the early 2000s)

21) New Orleans, LA

22) Newark, NJ

23) Portland (Changed to the Oregon FEB in 1998)

24) Pittsburgh, PA

25) Miami, FL (Changed to the S. Florida FEB in 2011)

President Gerald R. Ford

On March 30, 1976, President Gerald R. Ford announced the establishment of a Federal Executive Board in Houston, Texas.

“As a result of their demonstrated commitment and enthusiasm, I believe FEBs can continue to be instrumental in supporting Presidential initiatives and programs.”

26) Houston, TX

Established in 1966 as a Federal Executive Association (FEA), the San Antonio FEA petitioned the U.S. Office of Personnel Management on May 4, 1989, to become the Alamo Federal Executive Board.

On April 19, 1990, The Alamo Federal Executive Board was established. 

27) Alamo (Located in San Antonio, TX)


Agency Authority and Oversight

November 10, 1961-August 15, 1969: The Federal Executive Boards operated under the authority of the US Civil Service Commission.

August 15, 1969: The Federal Executive Boards were transferred from the US Civil Service Commission to the Bureau of Budget (Now Office of Management and Budget)

October 13, 1978: Civil Service Commission was reorganized into three new organizations

  • January 1, 1979. US Office of Personnel Management
  • Merit Systems Protection Board
  • Federal Labor Relations Authority

June 7, 1982:  Federal Executive Boards were transferred from the Bureau of Budget to the US Office of Personnel Management

August 29, 1984-Present: 5 CFR was amended by the Director, U.S. Office of Personnel Management, to include Part 960-FEDERAL EXECUTIVE BOARDS

The FEB responsibilities are outlined in Title 5, United States Code of Federal Regulations, Part 960 (5 CFR Part 960).

Federal Executive Board Historical Documents